Representative Mike Thompson (CA-05) announced Karissa Kruse as the 2020 Woman of the Year in Sonoma County. Each year, Thompson honors women from the Fifth Congressional District who make exceptional contributions to our community. This year, Thompson is honoring both 2020 and 2021 women of the year, as last year’s celebrations were cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. A statement from Thompson is below.

“Karissa Kruse has helped to put our Sonoma wine community on the international stage. As President of the Sonoma County Winegrowers, she set and met ambitious sustainability goals and landed the county the distinction of Wine Region of 2019 by Wine Enthusiast. She’s also worked to ensure the community gives back, relaunching the Sonoma County Grape Growers Foundation that has provided more than a $1 million in support to local farmworkers. I’m honored to call her a friend and recognize her as Sonoma County’s 2020 Woman of the Year.”

The Woman of the Year Recognition Ceremony was started in honor of Women’s History Month to recognize the service of women in our community.


A complete list of 2020 winners includes:
  • Annette Taylor, Solano County
  • Beth Bartke, Contra Costa County
  • Crystal Martin, Lake County
  • Hope Lugo, Napa County
  • Karissa Kruse, Sonoma County

A complete list of 2021 winners includes:

  • Carol Huchinson, Lake County
  • Elizabeth Ann Hoffman, Contra Costa County
  • Eloise Escano Scott, Solano County
  • Letitia Hanke, Sonoma County
  • Lydia Mondavi, Napa County